City Council

  Council Members    
Jeff Cline

phone: (828) 261-2460

Mayor - Being sworn in June 6

Cline, a Hickory native, is a Senior Vice-President for BB&T Insurance Services.  An active community member, Cline served on the Hickory City Council from 1995 to 1999.  He has also served as the President of the Catawba County Chamber of Commerce, Chairman of the Economic Development Corporation, and Chairman of the Board for Catawba Memorial Hospital, which is now Catawba Valley Medical Center.

Councilman Brad Lail

phone: (828) 322-3510

Ward 1 Council Member Brad Lail of Ward 1 has served on the Hickory By Choice Committee, Frye Regional Medical Center Advisory Board, and an active member of the Church of the Ascension Episcopal.
Councilman Vernon Tarlton
Mayor Tempore
phone: (828) 302-3124
Ward 2

Vernon Tarlton was elected as the Ward 2 representative to City Council in 2015.  He is a partner at Shook and Tarlton, as well as a member of multiple community organizations.  He has served on the Hickory/Conover Tourism Development Authority, the Catawba County Tax Board of Equalization and Review, the Catawba County Wildlife Club, and the Corporate Board of the YMCA of Catawba Valley among others.

Councilman Danny Seaver

phone: (828) 322-5155

Ward 3

Council Member Danny Seaver of Ward 3 is an advisor of the award winning Key Club at Hickory High School, member and President of the Hickory Kiwanis Club, member and Past President of the Bethlehem Lions Club, past member of the Hickory Public School Board, is a Patterson School Foundation member, and a member of Western Piedmont Sister Cities Association.

Councilman Hank Guess

phone: (828) 294-7757

Ward 4

Council Member Hank Guess of Ward 4 is a member Winkler's Grove Baptist Church, a volunteer with North Carolina Special Olympics, a member Hickory Masonic Lodge #343, and a member of NRA.


Councilman David Zagaroli

phone: (828) 217-7228

Ward 5

Council Member David Zagaroli of Ward 5 has fulfilled three full terms and two partial terms on the Public Art Commission (PAC), served on the Salt Block Board, is a member of the Rotary for twenty-one years, and has served on the Vestry of Church of the Ascension twice.

Councilwoman Jill Patton

phone: (828) 324-1325

Ward 6

Council Member Jill Patton of Ward 6 is a co-chair of the Jobs and Economy Taskforce, Foresight Committee, a YMCA-Board member and Secretary of the Corporate Board 2000-2008, a Hickory Rotary Club, Paul Harris Fellow, Rotarian of the Year 2008-2009, served as a Hickory Rotary Club President 2012/2013, was a YMCA - 2011 Corporate Board member, a former Catawba County Council for the Arts board member and finance committee member, a former Bank of Granite Board of Directors, former council member of HTLC, farmer’s market Board Member, and Girl Scout Board Member 2002-2005.

John Crone


City Attorney

John Crone has served as the City Attorney since 1995.  He is currently a member of Young, Morphis, Bach, and Taylor and is experienced in municipal law, asset protection, real estate, personal injury, and eminent domain law.






Bond Information
Organization Chart
Council Priorities
City Ward Map

City Council Meeting Video Playlist
City News Room

CityWide Footer

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement