Skip to main content

Hickory Regional Planning Commission

The Hickory Regional Planning Commission is composed of 12 citizens from the Hickory planning jurisdiction who meet on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 6:00 pm at the Hickory City Hall. The Planning Commission holds public hearings to review amendments to the Land Development Code (the zoning ordinance), rezoning requests, Special Use Permits, and Planned Development Master Land Use Plans. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Hickory City Council on rezoning requests and text amendments to the Land Development Code.

The Hickory Planning Commission is composed 12 members appointed as follows: six members who are residents of the City of Hickory, one of whom shall be from each ward of the City, two members who are residents of Catawba County residing outside the City of Hickory (ETJ), the Towns of Longview and Brookford and within the regional planning area.


Hickory Regional Planning Commission Agenda - June 24, 2020

Hickory Regional Board of Adjustment - June 24, 2020


Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment Members

Catawba County
Jeff Kerley
Randall Mays (Chair)
Catawba County
William Pekman
Burke County
Robert Weaver
Caldwell County
David Deal
Ward 1
Bill McBrayer
Ward 2
Dan Shabeldeen
Ward 3
Junior Hedrick
Ward 4
Sam Hunt
Ward 5
Wallace Johnson
Ward 6
Meg Jenkins Locke


City of Hickory

76 North Center Street
Hickory, North Carolina 28601
Phone: (828) 323-7400
Fax: (828) 323-7550



Life. Well Crafted.

Hickory is for doers and makers seeking a well-rounded community, located between Charlotte and Asheville at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, along I-40, where a collective spirit of craftsmanship strengthens any endeavor with detail, artistry, and quality.


Stay Connected





© 2020 City of Hickory, North Carolina. All Rights Reserved