Skip to main content

City Council

Hickory City Council

In 1913, Hickory became the first city in North Carolina to adopt the council-manager form of municipal government, which combines the leadership of elected officials and the administrative experience of a city manager. The mayor and city council set policy and hire a non-partisan manager to oversee city operations, advise council, and implement adopted policies and ordinances.


Hickory City Council is comprised of a mayor and six council members, each representing one of the city’s six wards. The Hickory City Council meets regularly on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in Council Chambers at the Julian G. Whitener Municipal Building. The public is welcome to attend City Council meetings or watch the following day on YouTube.



Hank Guess


phone: (828) 294-7757

Read more
Tony Wood

Councilman - Ward 1

phone: (828) 267-0799

Read more
Charlotte Williams

Councilwoman - Ward 2

phone: (828) 302-3205

Read more
Danny Seaver

Councilman - Ward 3

phone: (828) 322-5155

Read more


David Williams

Councilman - Ward 4


Read more
David Zagaroli

Councilman - Ward 5

phone: (828) 217-7228

Read more
Jill Patton

Councilwoman - Ward 6

phone: (828) 781-1155

Read more
John Crone

City Attorney


Read more

City of Hickory

76 North Center Street
Hickory, North Carolina 28601
Phone: (828) 323-7400
Fax: (828) 323-7550

Life. Well Crafted.

Hickory is for doers and makers seeking a well-rounded community, located between Charlotte and Asheville at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, along I-40, where a collective spirit of craftsmanship strengthens any endeavor with detail, artistry, and quality.

Stay Connected

© 2021 City of Hickory, North Carolina. All Rights Reserved