Skip to main content
 

City Council

Hickory City Council

In 1913, Hickory became the first city in North Carolina to adopt the council-manager form of municipal government, which combines the leadership of elected officials and the administrative experience of a manager. The mayor and city council set policy and hire a non-partisan manager to oversee city operations, advise council, and implement adopted policies and ordinances.

 

Hickory City Council is comprised of a mayor and six council members, each representing one of the city’s six wards. The Hickory City Council meets regularly on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in Council Chambers at the Julian G. Whitener Municipal Building. The public is welcome to attend City Council meetings or watch the following day on YouTube.

 

 

Hank Guess

Mayor

email: hguess@hickorync.gov
phone: (828) 294-7757


Read more
Tony Wood

Councilman - Ward 1

email: twood@hickorync.gov
phone: (828) 267-0799


Read more
Charlotte Williams

Councilwoman - Ward 2

email: cwilliams@hickorync.gov
phone: (828) 302-3205


Read more
Danny Seaver

Councilman - Ward 3

email: dseaver@hickorync.gov
phone: (828) 322-5155


Read more

 

David Williams

Councilman - Ward 4

email: dwilliams@hickorync.gov


Read more
David Zagaroli

Councilman - Ward 5

email: dzagaroli@hickorync.gov
phone: (828) 217-7228


Read more
Jill Patton

Councilwoman - Ward 6

email: jpatton@hickorync.gov
phone: (828) 781-1155


Read more
John Crone

City Attorney

email: jcrone@hickorync.gov


Read more

 

City of Hickory


76 North Center Street
Hickory, North Carolina 28601
Phone: (828) 323-7400
Fax: (828) 323-7550

 

 

Life. Well Crafted.


Hickory is for doers and makers seeking a well-rounded community, located between Charlotte and Asheville at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, along I-40, where a collective spirit of craftsmanship strengthens any endeavor with detail, artistry, and quality.
 

 

Stay Connected

 

 

 

     


© 2020 City of Hickory, North Carolina. All Rights Reserved