Skip to main content

Youth Council

Hickory Youth Council 2020-02-05 16.17.14.jpg


The Hickory Youth Council consists of 30 high school students from throughout the City who are charged with representing all the youth in the City of Hickory. The Youth Council meets on the third Monday of the month at 5:30 p.m. either virtually or at various City facilities between August and May.

The meetings are open to the public and all are invited to attend. See the City events calendar for upcoming meetings.

These high school students serve as an advisory council to the Hickory City Council, participate in community service projects, and hold events that build leadership skills for themselves and their peers.

If you have any additional questions about the Youth Council, call Dave Leonetti, Business Services and Redevelopment Manager and Staff Liaison for Youth Council, at 828-261-2227 or e-mail


Join the Hickory Youth Council

The Youth Council is currently seeking applications for the 2021-2022 school year. Click the button below to download the application form.

2021-2022 Hickory Youth Council Application



2020-2021 Youth Council Members

Christine Alkoutami, Chase Collins, Kaitlyn Day, Mackenzie Fairchild, Elizabeth Garmon, Samantha Hackney, Madison Hamilton, Rachel Hodakowkski, Caylin Le, Annie, Luong, Madison Midea, Aidan Nigrelli, Peyton O'Neal, Lucas Osborne, Sawyer Owens, Perry Pate, Matthew Rostan, Jonah Sanderson, Eric Schoellner, Andrew Schultz, Lorna Seddon, Klaire Starr, Jack Tomlinson, Nathaniel Walls, Dorian Whitworth, and Virginia Young 


Youth Council Officers for 2020-2021

Eric Schoellner - Chair
Rachel Hodakowski - Vice Chair
Madison Midea - Secretary
Lucas Osborne - Historian

Representatives on other Hickory Boards and Commissions:
Bond Commission - Mackenzie Fairchild
Community Appearance Commission - Annie Luong
Community Relations Council - Christine Alkoutam and Perry Pate
Historic Preservation Commission - Matthew Rostan
International Council - Eric Schoellner
Library Advisory Board - Madison Midea
Parks and Recreation Commission - Rachel Hodakowski
Public Art Commission - Samantha Hackney

City of Hickory

76 North Center Street
Hickory, North Carolina 28601
Phone: (828) 323-7400
Fax: (828) 323-7550

Life. Well Crafted.

Hickory is for doers and makers seeking a well-rounded community, located between Charlotte and Asheville at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, along I-40, where a collective spirit of craftsmanship strengthens any endeavor with detail, artistry, and quality.

Stay Connected

© 2021 City of Hickory, North Carolina. All Rights Reserved