Skip to main content

National Register of Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of buildings, structures, objects, sites, and districts worthy of preservation for their significance in American history, architecture, archaeology, and culture. The National Register was established by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966. The purpose of the Act is to ensure that as a matter of public policy, properties significant in national, state, and local history are considered in the planning of federal undertakings, and to encourage historic preservation initiatives by state and local governments and the private sector.

Difference between National Register and Local Historic Designations

The National Register of Historic Places should not be confused with local historic designation. The Hickory Historic Preservation Commission only exercises design review authority over locally designated districts and landmarks. Listing on the National Register is primarily an honorary designation and no restrictions are imposed on property owners, unless federal and/or state funds are used for improvements.

Financial Incentives for Preservation

Properties listed on the National Register may be eligible for state and federal rehabilitation tax credits to assist with renovations. Income producing properties (commericial, multi-family, etc.) may be eligible for the 20% federal tax credit and a 15% state piggyback tax credit, while non-income producing properties (owner occupied, residential) may be eligible for a 15% state tax credit. Properties must be considered contributing to the district and work must be completed in accordance to federal guidelines. For more information regarding historic tax credits, please contact the State Historic Preservation Office. At the local level, the Community Appearance Commission provides grants to non-residential properties for facade improvements. Historic properties are given higher weight during the grant application review process.

National Register Listings in Hickory

There are currently four National Register Historic Districts - Claremont High School, Kenworth, Oakwood, and Southwest Downtown - in Hickory. Combined with individual National Register listings, there are approximately 530 properties in Hickory that are on the National Register of Historic Places.

The nomination report for each National Register Historic District can be found below:

Claremont HS NRHD Nomination Report (1986)

Claremont HS NRHD Expansion Nomination Report (2009)

Kenworth NRHD Nomination Report (1985)

Kenworth NRHD Expansion Nomination Report (2005)

Oakwood NRHD Nomination Report (1986)

Oakwood NRHD Expansion Nomination Report (2019)

Southwest Downtown NRHD Nomination Report (2005)


A map of each National Register Historic District can be found below:

Claremont HS NRHD Map

Kenworth NRHD Map

Oakwood NRHD Map

Southwest Downtown NRHD Map